linksys router from the depths of hell

computer related, need help with your computer, programs, anti-virus, patches, firewalls, networking, want to know how to do it, or would like to help??

Moderator: MiniNart

User avatar
psychobabble
*`RESIDENT BAB[e]`*
Posts: 5118
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 8:29 am
Location: My Heating Pad

linksys router from the depths of hell

Post: # 71495Post psychobabble
Thu Mar 05, 2009 4:29 am

OKAY...my ISP says it's the router, I don't want to call india again..they put me on hold and I made a joke about indian tech support and we were mysteriously "dissconnected"...riiight....lol

I have installed it correctly, set it up through quest and with both computers wired in ..not wireless we keep loosing the internet and having to constantly unplug or push the orange cisco button...

ITS PISSING ME OFF!!

why?...why????...any thoughts?...
What the hell is "well-adjusted" even supposed to mean? It sounds like you're some reclining chair on an airplane. ~ random funny internet stranger.

User avatar
REELIGGY
The FINDER of Things
Posts: 914
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:06 am
Location: NWF Admin

Post: # 71496Post REELIGGY
Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:06 am

Whats the model number of your router.. And whats quest
And have you been in the router setup.. Do it look like this.

See the Keep alive check.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
In Memorey Of JLW
I will never Forget you Bro!!!!!!!!!!!
Rest in peace Jim
August 30th 1948 / August 7th 2007

User avatar
REELIGGY
The FINDER of Things
Posts: 914
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:06 am
Location: NWF Admin

Post: # 71497Post REELIGGY
Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:32 am

oh and are you cable or dsl?
In Memorey Of JLW
I will never Forget you Bro!!!!!!!!!!!
Rest in peace Jim
August 30th 1948 / August 7th 2007

User avatar
psychobabble
*`RESIDENT BAB[e]`*
Posts: 5118
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 8:29 am
Location: My Heating Pad

Post: # 71502Post psychobabble
Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:02 pm

I can get into a program online looks just like that...

Quest is my ISP and it is DSL PPPoe whatever set up through the disk

and the number is...WRT54G v5

dun dun dhun

keep alive checK?
What the hell is "well-adjusted" even supposed to mean? It sounds like you're some reclining chair on an airplane. ~ random funny internet stranger.

User avatar
REELIGGY
The FINDER of Things
Posts: 914
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:06 am
Location: NWF Admin

Post: # 71507Post REELIGGY
Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:51 pm

Have you tried to update the Firmware???

Link to do it and you have to make sure you got the right file..

Code: Select all

http://www-id.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_CASupport_C2&childpagename=ID%2FLayout&cid=1166859837401&packedargs=sku%3D1139845558921&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=3740158921B07&displaypage=download


Info on how to do it there too..
I'm looking into your problem now..
In Memorey Of JLW
I will never Forget you Bro!!!!!!!!!!!
Rest in peace Jim
August 30th 1948 / August 7th 2007

User avatar
psychobabble
*`RESIDENT BAB[e]`*
Posts: 5118
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 8:29 am
Location: My Heating Pad

Post: # 71508Post psychobabble
Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:54 pm

Thank you Reeliggy
What the hell is "well-adjusted" even supposed to mean? It sounds like you're some reclining chair on an airplane. ~ random funny internet stranger.

User avatar
psychobabble
*`RESIDENT BAB[e]`*
Posts: 5118
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 8:29 am
Location: My Heating Pad

Post: # 71509Post psychobabble
Thu Mar 05, 2009 4:28 pm

I don' tmean to sound stupid, but I don't know how to install the firmware?..I keep trying to open the manual but it isn't working...
What the hell is "well-adjusted" even supposed to mean? It sounds like you're some reclining chair on an airplane. ~ random funny internet stranger.

User avatar
Jam_n
.:BREAST INSPECTOR:.
.:BREAST INSPECTOR:.
Posts: 1505
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 1972 11:00 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post: # 71510Post Jam_n
Thu Mar 05, 2009 5:35 pm

Hi,

Thank you for contacting Linksys Technical Support.

You can get the firmware for WRT54G v7 on the website. Please follow these steps in getting the firmware for your router:

1. Go to www.linksys.com.
2. Change the country option, located on the upper left side.
3. Click then on Downloads link.

To upgrade the firmware of your router, you may follow the steps below:

1. Do a hard reset on the router.
1.1. Press and hold the reset button for 4 seconds.
1.2. Unplug the power keep holding down the reset button for another 3 seconds.
1.3. Plug back the power keep holding down the reset button for 3 seconds.
1.4. Release the reset button.
2. Download the firmware on the download site (www.linksys.com/download).
3. Save the firmware of your desktop and unzip the file. You should be seeing a .bin file.
4. Go to ftp://ftp.linksys.com/pub/network.
5. Look for the filename that says TFTP.EXE.
6. Double click on it and save it on your desktop.
7. Assign static IP on the computer where the firmware file and the TFTP.EXE file is downloaded. (Go to www.linksys.com/kb and type "How to set a static IP address in Windows behind a Linksys Router" on the Search field for the steps in setting static IP) Copy first the instructions before performing the steps.
8. Force the speed of your network adapter. (Go to www.linksys.com/kb and type "Forcing a Network Adapter to 10 Mbps Half Duplex" for the steps in forcing the speed of the card) Copy first the instructions before performing the steps.
9. Disconnect the computer where you save the downloaded files from the modem.
10. Connect the computer directly to the router and double click on TFTP.EXE and run the file.
11. The Upgrade Firmware screen will appear, and then enter the following settings in their respective fields:
Server: 192.168.1.1
Password: admin
Filename: This will be the ".bin" file that you downloaded from the Linksys download website.
12. After successfully upgrading the firmware, do a hard reset again on the router.
13. Reconfigure the router.
14. After reconfiguring the router, set back the computer to its original settings.

For more information, you can go to www.linksys.com/kb and type "How to Upgrade the Firmware on a Linksys Router" on the Search field.

For frequently asked questions, you may visit our knowledgebase at http://www.linksys.com/kb.

Sincerely,

Linksys “A Division of Cisco System"
www.linksys.com/support
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Image

User avatar
REELIGGY
The FINDER of Things
Posts: 914
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:06 am
Location: NWF Admin

Post: # 71511Post REELIGGY
Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:51 pm

Its ok Babs we will take it slow with you...

Thanks Jam_n for your info.. ;-)
In Memorey Of JLW
I will never Forget you Bro!!!!!!!!!!!
Rest in peace Jim
August 30th 1948 / August 7th 2007

User avatar
REELIGGY
The FINDER of Things
Posts: 914
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:06 am
Location: NWF Admin

Post: # 71512Post REELIGGY
Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:55 pm

you download your firmware to your pc the right one for your router you open your router setup and look for firmware update look foe file you just downloaded and it will do it for you just let it go till it tells you its done.. will put a pic up.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
In Memorey Of JLW
I will never Forget you Bro!!!!!!!!!!!
Rest in peace Jim
August 30th 1948 / August 7th 2007

Post Reply